Teaching music theory and ear training

19.03.2021

I have studied music pedagogy now for three years and have done all my internships (4 altogether) in music schools. My teaching experience starts from the elementary level and I have also taught in professional studies. I know what the music school expects from the teacher, but I would like to broaden the picture.

Yes, it is important to understand different keys, scales, and rhythms. Hearing intervals, pitches, and chords are part of understanding music. But are those things really the essence of music? What about hearing phrases, tones, overall dramaturgy? Understanding the history behind the music: where it was played? By whom and who was paying? Why does the music sound like this? What I think about the sounds I am hearing?

As a teacher, I want to encourage students to think, not only to learn rules. I want to adapt the learning of music theory to their own pieces. I want them to understand better, what they are playing. I also believe that everyone can compose. Creativity is part of being a human. So when adapting the theory to practice I like to use some "composing exercises". Then composing is considered as a tool for learning. When I teach composing, the situation is different and then the process of composing is the main focus.

Luo kotisivut ilmaiseksi!